Photo Friday: What’s New?

I love my family. They know me all too well. This Mothers' Day I got some nifty pressies: a book on Victorian World of Science, octopus-fingers and a teacup wind chime, with spare spoons for those days I am flat. It's now hanging in my writing nook. (I may hide some emergency chockies inside.) We watched Eurovision, had pancakes, bacon and maple syrup for lunch (yum!) and finished the day with a new episode of Doctor Who. Perfect.

 

While on the subject of tea (okay, well sort of), I have a new teaball to add to my collection:

I've also been busy creating new crafty surprises to purchase at upcoming events. Now the weather is cooler, I can get back to crocheting some fun new steampunky stuff. I've finished another green octoscarf and something new - top hats! These are the first two completed. It took a few practice runs to work out the best combination of stitches to give the shape. It's green too - a hatter's chapeau, trimmed with purple.

  

I've also made some octopuses. (Are you surprised? I thought not.) This one will end up on either a dark purple or black mini top hat. This is what it will look like.

These (or similar) will be available at my next talk (Aus Sci Fi: Talking Steampunk) in June and Adelaide Supanova in November. I'm hoping to finish a few more in different colours before then. Prices start at $15- $25 (depending on decorations). I can take a limited number of orders for collection at the events.

And finally - this arrived in the post yesterday. I need to start reading faster! Sigh.

Photos ©2017 Karen Carlisle. All rights reserved.

More Videos from Steampunk 30th

Lynne Lumsden Green's video on Steampunk Gadgets is now live. [embed]https://youtu.be/s_dCBjZN_Pw[/embed] And here's the compilation video for those who want the edited version (with links to the full videos) [embed]https://youtu.be/w1X0fpmnniY[/embed] Thanks to Lynne for agreeing to her videos being hosted on my youTube channel. You can find Lynne at:

cogpunksteamscribe.wordpress.com

Photo (and Video) Friday: Celebrating 30 Years of (official) Steampunk

Thought I'd share some photos and videos from the Celebrating 30 Years of (official) Steampunk event from last week.  We discussed the definition of steampunk, chatted about costumes, events and music..

 

We talked recycling and upcycling and opshopping...

I showed off another sonic screwdriver...

and we did some did some surveys:

Had some live videos...

I did a talk On Steampunk - what I love, costuming, writing and history... and what if?

[embed]https://youtu.be/DW6S2OSoe6s[/embed]

and Lynne's did a talk on Australian Steampunk Writers (and cosplay and writing).

[embed]https://youtu.be/329B0kKzpSo[/embed]

I'll be posting two more videos from the day on my youTube channel. Thanks to everyone who participated. Thanks for sharing your stories and photos.

Here's a list of the steampunk forum/webpages compiled on the day:

  1. Steampunk Dominion (refugees from Steampunk Empire) http://thesteampunkdominion.ning.comhttps://www.facebook.com/groups/1276453745780039
  2. Steampunk Writers and Artists Guild.(SWG) http://steampunkwriters.ning.com/
  3. Steampunk Writer’s Library https://www.facebook.com/groups/SteampunkWritersLibrary/
  4. Steampunk South Australia https://www.facebook.com/groups/386014630031/
  5. Reddit Steampunk https://www.reddit.com/r/steampunk/
  6. Brass Goggles http://brassgoggles.co.uk/
  7. Steampunk Sunday Queensland Australia https://www.facebook.com/SteampunkSunday/
  8. Steampunk Tendencies https://www.facebook.com/SteampunkTendencies
  9. Queensland – steampunk events Steampunk Affaires https://www.facebook.com/groups/1673295336234933/
  10. The Talk of Punk Fiction: https://www.writing.com/.../2117337-The-Talk-of-Punk-Fiction
  11. Rail Baron https://therailbaron.wordpress.com/
  12. Ged Maybury: https://steamedup.wordpress.com/
  13. Steampunk Scholar: http://steampunkscholar.blogspot.com.au/
  14. Travelers steampunk blog http://daily-steampunk.com/steampunk-blog/
  15. Airship Ambassador http://www.airshipambassador.com/
  16. Beyond Victoriana https://beyondvictoriana.com/
  17. Steampunk India: http://www.steampunkindia.com/
  18. French Steampunk https://www.facebook.com/frenchsteampunk
  19. German Steampunk site: http://clockworker.de/cw/page/2/
  20. Steampunk Canada: http://www.steampunkcanada.ca/
  21. Steampunk Worlds Fair http://steampunkworldsfair.com/blogs/

If you have a favourite steampunk forum or webpage, please let us know in the comments.