Tag Archives: art

Photo Friday: It’s Covered.

I took a trip down memory lane this week: #Whoviansau (ABC2) did a shout out for Doctor Who art. I delved into my fanzine collection and found these covers I had done for Blacklight (Gallifrey Doctor Who Appreciation Society fanzine), circa 1994.

Breathing in all that dust was not a good idea. Hello sinus infection and bronchitis. Ugh. On a more positive note, I found a replacement dress dummy at Salvos (a fraction of the cost of a new one).

 

I am soldiering on with my writing (more on that in Sunday’s post). I have a deadline looming and I can’t disappoint you, Dear Reader.

This week I’ve been wrangling convoluted timelines… Thank goodness for whiteboards.

And here’s a sneak preview of one of the elements planned for the cover of The Illusionist & Other Tales: Journal #3.

Photos ©2017 Karen Carlisle. All rights reserved.


Photo (and Video) Friday: Celebrating 30 Years of (official) Steampunk

Thought I’d share some photos and videos from the Celebrating 30 Years of (official) Steampunk event from last week.  We discussed the definition of steampunk, chatted about costumes, events and music..

 

We talked recycling and upcycling and opshopping…

I showed off another sonic screwdriver…

and we did some did some surveys:

Had some live videos…

I did a talk On Steampunk – what I love, costuming, writing and history… and what if?

and Lynne’s did a talk on Australian Steampunk Writers (and cosplay and writing).

I’ll be posting two more videos from the day on my youTube channel. Thanks to everyone who participated. Thanks for sharing your stories and photos.

Here’s a list of the steampunk forum/webpages compiled on the day:

  1. Steampunk Dominion (refugees from Steampunk Empire)
    http://thesteampunkdominion.ning.comhttps://www.facebook.com/groups/1276453745780039
  2. Steampunk Writers and Artists Guild.(SWG) http://steampunkwriters.ning.com/
  3. Steampunk Writer’s Library
    https://www.facebook.com/groups/SteampunkWritersLibrary/
  4. Steampunk South Australia https://www.facebook.com/groups/386014630031/
  5. Reddit Steampunk https://www.reddit.com/r/steampunk/
  6. Brass Goggles http://brassgoggles.co.uk/
  7. Steampunk Sunday Queensland Australia https://www.facebook.com/SteampunkSunday/
  8. Steampunk Tendencies https://www.facebook.com/SteampunkTendencies
  9. Queensland – steampunk events Steampunk Affaires https://www.facebook.com/groups/1673295336234933/
  10. The Talk of Punk Fiction: https://www.writing.com/…/2117337-The-Talk-of-Punk-Fiction
  11. Rail Baron https://therailbaron.wordpress.com/
  12. Ged Maybury: https://steamedup.wordpress.com/
  13. Steampunk Scholar: http://steampunkscholar.blogspot.com.au/
  14. Travelers steampunk blog http://daily-steampunk.com/steampunk-blog/
  15. Airship Ambassador http://www.airshipambassador.com/
  16. Beyond Victoriana https://beyondvictoriana.com/
  17. Steampunk India: http://www.steampunkindia.com/
  18. French Steampunk https://www.facebook.com/frenchsteampunk
  19. German Steampunk site: http://clockworker.de/cw/page/2/
  20. Steampunk Canada: http://www.steampunkcanada.ca/
  21. Steampunk Worlds Fair http://steampunkworldsfair.com/blogs/

If you have a favourite steampunk forum or webpage, please let us know in the comments.